April 7 Webinar: The threat to forests and climate from burning forest biomass

European policies that promote burning forest wood as “zero carbon” renewable energy threaten forests and the climate. The EU is now proposing to significantly increase its GHG reduction target, but if this leads to greater dependence on bioenergy, it will destroy more forests and actually increase emissions, not reduce them. The EU is soliciting comment on its proposal (deadline April 15th), and we want to let policymakers know: We need a climate policy that puts forests first!

Please join us for a webinar with Q&A on the climate and forest impacts of bioenergy in the EU, the EU’s new GHG target proposal, and how you can comment.

When: Tuesday, April 7th, 3:00 – 4:15 pm CEST   (9 am – 10:15 am EDT)
Where: Zoom: https://us04web.zoom.us/j/6630173508 – password 550842
See the slides here

We will be doing a second webinar at the following time-slot that is convenient for western Canada, Australia and Japan:
Tues April 7th, 7 pm EDT
Tues April 7th, 4 pm PDT
Weds April 8th, 9 am AEST (Brisbane)
Weds April 8th, 8 am JST (Tokyo)